Sportsmanship I All-Star Game Rosters Announced

| March 29, 2013

CLARION, Pa. ( – Rosters for the Sportsmanship I/Clarion County YMCA District 9 All-Star game to be played April 6 at Clarion High school were announced Thursday.

The girls’ game will be played at 6:00 p.m. followed by the boys’ game at 7:30 p.m. with both games featuring the top senior basketball players from across District 9.

Kurt Becker, head coach of the District 9 Class AA boys’ champion Brockway Rovers, will serve as head coach of one of the boys’ teams, while Eddie Baumcratz, head coach of the KSAC champion and District 9 Class A third-place North Clarion Wolves, will be the other boys’ head coach.

On the girls’ side, Bradford’s Ann Nuzzo, whose team has won back-to-back District 9 Class AAA titles, will pilot one squad with Clarion’s Roger Walter, whose team won both the KSAC and the District 9 Class A titles this year, will head the other squad.

In the boys’ game, Becker’s team will feature District 9’s top-two leading scorer in Ryan Willison (25.2 points per game) of Cranberry and Zach Smith of Smethport (22.3 ppg). They will be joined by Elk County Catholic’s Clayton Housler (14.7 ppg), Clarion’s Camron Kirkland (11.6 ppg), Coudersport’s John Rigas (14.5 ppg), Sheffield’s Shequan Wright (9.8 ppg), Johnsonburg’s Mitch Holmberg (7.5 ppg), Brockway’s Clay Anderson (13.7 ppg), North Clarion’s Mitch Obenrader (19.3 ppg) and Keystone’s Tyler Beichner (18.0 ppg).

Baumcratz’s team will also feature a pair of 20-point per game scorers in Clarion’s Roland Shannonhouse (21.6 ppg) and A-C Valley’s Ryan Bartley (20.8 ppg) as well as Ridgway’s Jesse Reynolds (17.5 ppg), A-C Valley’s Brody Irwin (11.8 ppg), Bradford’s Mike Wilber (12.9 ppg), Johnsonburg’s Quinn Luhr (8.4 ppg), Oswayo Valley’s Spencer Howard (13.9 ppg), Cameron County’s Tyler Wigfield (14.5 ppg), Smethport’s Clayton Schuler (12.9 ppg) and North Clarion’s Kyle Howarth (16.0 ppg).

Nuzzo’s girls’ squad will be led by two of the top players from the D9 League in Bradford’s Kaserra Owens (17.3 ppg) and St. Marys’ Adair Gennocro (14.1 ppg) as well as Brookville’s Aisha Newsome (10.4 ppg), Cameron County’s Brooke Dunsmore (14.2 ppg), Otto-Eldred’s Ashley Brown (12.1 ppg), Kane’s Dawn Saquin (7.5 ppg), Elk County Catholic’s Taylor DaCanal (11.0 ppg), DuBois’ Cara Labrasca (13.2 ppg), Keystone’s Malinda Brozenick (8.7 ppg) and Clarion’s Ashley Hummell (11.4 ppg). Kane’s Kaila Jamerson (11.9 ppg) is also on the team but won’t play because of an injury.

Walter’s squad is paced by Clarion-Limestone’s Kiana Laugand (16.3 ppg) and Clearfield’s Breanna Peters (15.2 ppg), and they will be joined by Clarion’s Mercy Kroh (8.0 ppg), Bradford’s Alex Vinelli (10.1 ppg), Coudersport’s Taylor Green (8.6 ppg), A-C Valley’s Kelsey Boocks (13.0 ppg), Keystone’s Courtney Greathouse (12.0 ppg), Brookville’s Lanae Newsome (12.8 ppg) and Karly Reinsel (11.0 ppg) and Cranberry’s Sune Swart (13.3 ppg). Keystone’s Morgan Johnson (18.1 ppg) is also on the team but will not play because of an injury.

NOTES – The assistant coaches for each squad are the respective assistants of the head coaches. Rick Clark will join Becker, Terry Dreihaup joins Baumcratz,Geraldine Lacney joins Nuzzo and Chrissy Kriebel joins Walter.

Copyright © 2020 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Category: Local News, News, Sports