Orioles Represented Well at D10’s Best of Varsity Cup Awards; Rocky Grove Earns D10 Team of the Year Award

| June 20, 2018

ERIE, Pa. (EYT) – It’s hard to imagine that it could get much sweeter for members of the state champion Rocky Grove Orioles.

Justin Heller, Tyler Clayton, Koby Winslow, Scotty Perry, Conner Curran and Travis Perry were on hand to accept the District 10 Team of the Year Award. Photo by Teresa Perry.

Think again.

Not only did the Orioles come away with two major awards at District 10’s annual Varsity Cup (recognition of District 10 athletes and season award winners), but they also received a personal congratulations from a Super Bowl MVP. Best of Varsity Cup Awards is presented by Erie Times-News and GoErie.com.

Youngstown State recruit and former Oriole standout shortstop and pitcher, Travis Perry, was named the Erie Times-News District 10 Player of the Year. Perry posted some mind-boggling numbers on the mound as well as at the plate throughout the 2018 season. His 89 strikeouts and 0.58 ERA were tops in District 10 as was his .451 batting average at the plate.

Travis Perry receiving his Player of the Year Award. Photo by Teresa Perry

Perry was also named to the Erie Times-News All-District 10 Small School as a pitcher. Teammates and fellow 2018 graduates, Conner Curran and Koby Winslow, also joined Perry on the small school all-star team. Curran was named to the team as a first baseman while Winslow made the team as a second baseman.

The Orioles also had a host of players named Region One All-Stars by the Erie Times-News. Winslow (2B), Perry (SS/P), and Hunter Bruner (OF) were first-team selections while Justin Heller (C), and Curran (1B) were second-team selections.

Beyond the individual awards, the history-making Orioles, who became the first District 10 team to win a PIAA title when they beat Camp Hill, 5-4, in the Class 2A championship game last Thursday, were named District 10’s Team of the Year by the Erie Times-News.

Members of the team at the banquet. Photo by Conner Curran

Former Pittsburgh Steeler wide receiver, Hines Ward, was the keynote speaker at the awards banquet. Heller, Clayton, Winslow, Scott Perry, Curran and Travis Perry were personally congratulated by Ward privately backstage at the event and had the opportunity to pose for a picture with the Super Bowl XL MVP.

Copyright © 2020 EYT Media Group, Inc. All rights reserved. Any copying, redistribution or retransmission of the contents of this service without the express written consent of EYT Media Group, Inc. is expressly prohibited.

Category: Local News, News, Sports